Get recipes, tips and all kinds of cheezy goodness
delivered right to your inbox.
Daiya products are not certified organic.
Daiya products have not and will not be tested on animals.
We do not add any MSG to our products. Yeast extract and other yeast ingredients are not a synonym for MSG. Yeast extract does contain some naturally occurring glutamate. Glutamate is an amino acid, which is found in many foods, such as tomatoes, yeast, and mushrooms.
We do not add palm oil as an ingredient in any of our products. There are small amounts of Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) sourced palm derivatives in the vegan natural flavors used in some of our products (all Cream Cheeze Style Spreads, Salted Caramel Swirl Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert Bar, Vanilla Creme Frozen Dessert Pint, Salted Caramel Chip Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert Pint, Pumpkin Spice Cheezecake and Cutting Board Collection Parmesan Style Shreds).
The only products we currently use Non-GMO Project Verified expeller pressed canola oil in Daiya Dairy- Free dressings. For our remaining products, we currently use safflower oil. You may notice that many of our labels contain the statement “canola and/or safflower oil” to allow us to toggle between the two in case of supply shortages. To date, we have not encountered a shortage of this nature.
We do not add carrageenan to any Daiya products.
We use Titanium Dioxide, a naturally occurring mineral, in the Mild Mozzarella Style Rounds on our Gluten Free Margherita Pizza. Our level of use is well below the international standard and the FDA maximum level of 1%. Unlike the Titanium Dioxide that is used in cosmetics, the form we use is not a nano particle. This ingredient is considered safe for human consumption by both the FDA and CFIA.
At Daiya, we’re committed to making sure everyone can eat freely. Peace of mind starts by knowing our plant-based foods are free of common allergens: soy, dairy (casein, whey and lactose), gluten, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts (except coconut). We achieve this level of certainty and freedom by following a strict sourcing and production process that includes supplier controls, ingredient segregation, production run scheduling, equipment cleaning and our own testing program. Click here to learn more about our allergen control program.
Yes, all Daiya products are gluten free. Almost all Daiya products are GFCO certified. Our Daiya Dessert Bars, Daiya Pints, and Daiya Dairy Free Dressings are not currently GFCO certified but are part of our stringent allergen control program. These products are tested for gluten and must pass testing to proceed to market, allowing us to confidently list all Daiya products as gluten-free.
Our products that contain a highly refined coconut oil WILL NOT contain the allergenic protein.
Our products that contain coconut meat or coconut cream WILL have the allergenic component present.
The US Food and Drug Administration considers coconut a “tree nut” allergen and therefore requires that coconut be declared on the ingredient label. All Daiya products that contain coconut ingredients (except coconut oil) have a “contains: coconut” statement on the packaging to comply with this regulation.
Please note however that according to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA), highly refined oils derived from an allergen are NOT considered a major food allergen. Therefore, Daiya products that contain only coconut oil (Refined Bleach and Deodorized) are considered allergen-free.
The Canadian Food Inspection Agency and Health Canada do not consider coconut a “tree nut” for the purposes of food allergen labelling in Canada. Therefore, Daiya products containing coconut ingredients are considered allergen-free.
All flavors of the following Daiya products contain highly refined coconut oil as described above, it is refined, bleached, and deodorized and the allergenic protein component is not present.
The following products contain coconut cream or creamed coconut which contains the allergenic protein.
The only Daiya product that is coconut oil free is the Daiya Dressings.
Our allergen control program only includes top allergens. If there is something you are allergic or sensitive to that is not part of our allergen control program, we are happy to help answer any questions that will help determine if Daiya products are right for you and your family. Please contact our team for more allergen and ingredient information.
Many of our products are certified Kosher and Daiya’s main production facility has received the Orthodox Union (OU) Kosher certification.
OU Certified Kosher Pareve Products:
The following products are not certified Kosher because they are made in a co-packer facility that is not certified kosher or the product contains an ingredient that is not certified Kosher:
The following products are certified by the IFANCC
We want you to love every purchase of Daiya products, here is a handy guideline to get the most out of them:
Our refrigerated foods (Shreds, Blocks, Slices, Cream Cheeze Style Spreads, Cheeze Sticks) should always be kept refrigerated. Once the package is opened, we recommend consuming our products within 7 days. These products cannot be frozen, except for our Shreds.
Our frozen foods (Pizzas, Burritos, Cheezecakes, Dessert Bars and Pints) should be kept frozen before cooking or serving. Do not thaw and refreeze these products.
Our shelf stable products (Cheeze Sauce, Cheezy Mac, Dressings) are shelf stable until opened. Please refrigerate the dressings after opening. Cheezy Mac and Cheeze Sauce leftovers should be stored in the refrigerator in airtight containers and consumed within 24 hours.
For our entire line of consumer products, we endeavor to use packaging that supports a sustainable society:
Our glass Dairy Free Dressing bottles, Pizza, Deluxe Cheezy Mac and Deluxe Cheeze Sauce paperboard packaging are all recyclable.
Our new Cream Cheeze Style Spread packaging is recyclable through the How2recycle program. Please check the link to see if this is available in your community.
Our other refrigerated products (Shreds, Blocks, Slices, and Sticks) require packaging that prevents oxygen from entering the package. We have recently achieved the goal of reducing the plastic of our slice packaging by 81%. Although not all our plastic packaging is currently recyclable, some retailers and recycling stations will accept soft plastics used in the packaging on some of our products. Please inquire with your local soft plastic drop off locations for more information!
We pronounce Daiya as “day-ah.” As in “Have a nice Daiya!” The name came from a play on the words ‘dairy’ and “Dayaa,” which is Sanskrit for “loving, kindness and compassion.”
In 2017, Daiya was acquired by Otsuka Holdings, a global holistic health company, based in Japan, with an agreed commitment to uphold the legacy of the Daiya founders and the company focus. Otsuka’s additional experience, knowledge and financial support has allowed us to realize our goals to bring our plant-based offerings to people around the world, while allowing Daiya to operate as an independent subsidiary with the same leadership, employees, and facilities based in Canada.